新国土上的帮手

关于我们的创始人

劳拉·马伦科在密歇根州的法明顿山出生长大,她理解离开熟悉的环境去往陌生的地方是多么令人畏惧。2004年,她跟着家人搬到了德克萨斯州的休斯敦,2008年又因工作机会再次搬到首都华盛顿特区。在密歇根州的同一栋房子里度过了生平的多数岁月之后,这两次搬迁使劳拉不得不从头开始,适应不同的生活,结交新的朋友。她从这两次搬迁中获得的知识和经验对于美国金灯塔的成立是不可或缺的。

劳拉·马伦科持有德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校的文学学士学位,主修社会学,辅修西班牙语。在华盛顿特区的一家公司担任培训专员和就业指导员期间,她在约翰霍普金斯大学就读,于2014年获得理学硕士学位,专业为教育研究,主攻成人教育。她还在2012年获得了乔治梅森大学国际教练联合会认证的组织行为领导力培训的研究生证书。

此外, Laura 还通过了 TESOL 认证,并在线向在中国学生教授英语作为第二语言。她能够通过各种志愿者职位来帮助移民,并为前往美国的新移民提供服务。她与Hogar移民服务和移民与难民服务部门合作,这些项目是弗吉尼亚州阿灵顿教区天主教慈善机构的一部分,帮助她了解了她在Golden Beacon USA的工作。

在空闲的时候,劳拉喜欢遐想她的下一个国际旅游目的地是哪里,与家人和朋友共度时光,追逐最新的名人八卦,做艺术。

A helping hand in a new land.

About Our Founder

Born and raised in Farmington Hills, Michigan, Laura Marenco understands how scary it can be to leave the familiar for the unfamiliar. In 2004, a family move transferred her to Houston, Texas and a job offer in 2008 moved her again to the nation’s capital of Washington, D.C. After spending the majority of her life in the same house in Michigan, these two moves required Laura to start over again, having to adjust to a different way of life and make new friends. The knowledge and experiences she gained from these moves were integral to the founding of Golden Beacon USA.

Laura Marenco holds a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology with a minor in Spanish from the University of Texas at Austin. While working as a Training Specialist and a Career Coach for an organization in Washington, D.C., she attended Johns Hopkins University and earned a Master of Science degree in Educational Studies, concentrating on Adult Education, in 2014. She also received a graduate certificate in Leadership Coaching for Organizational Performance from George Mason University’s International Coaching Federation accredited program in 2012.

In addition, Laura is TESOL-certified and teaches English as a Second Language online to students in China. She was able to pursue her interests in assisting immigrants through various volunteer positions with organizations serving newcomers who are traveling to the United States. Her work with Hogar Immigrant Services and Migration & Refugee Services, programs that are part of the Catholic Charities of the Diocese of Arlington, Virginia, helped inform her work on Golden Beacon USA.

In her free time, Laura likes to daydream about where her next international travel destination will be, spend time with family and friends, catch up on the latest celebrity gossip, and dabble in art.